‘Good intentions at the core of plan’

Following the devastating floods in the city last month, the Jakarta administration has been bringing old plans to the table, including requiring every resident to build a percolation pit on their property. Governor Sutiyoso is taking to the tasks at hand with renewed vigor, pledging to start with his own office. The Jakarta Post talked to some people about the issue.

Imelda Arianti, 34, is a public relation officers at a private company on Jl. Gatot Subroto, South Jakarta. She lives in Perdatam, South Jakarta:

I hope the administration sees its plans through because now is not the time for empty words. I believe the experts who say the city will sink if we don’t do something to stop it.

There’s no pit at my house but my husband keeps telling me he’ll build one in the backyard. I hope people support the administration’s programs because there are good intentions behind them.

Suparman, 46, is a driver for a family in Kebon Jeruk, West Jakarta. He lives in Kembangan, West Jakarta:

The (percolation pit) plan is too ambitious since most of the houses in the city, like mine, don’t have big backyards. I can’t imagine where I would put the pit.

It would be better for them to start implementing the program at big houses and shopping centers because they usually have grounds.

But it’s unlikely that will ever happen because they don’t like to disturb the “big fish”. They’ll just end up shelving their plans like they did after the big flood of 2002.

–The Jakarta Post
http://www.thejakartapost.com/detailcity.asp?fileid=20070313.C05&irec=4